Posted by: chartroose | January 22, 2009

Surfer Dude’s Guess That Gnarly Gnovel # 6

 

Aloha, dudes!  I’m back from my totally rad vacay in Hawaii.  I met some real pro crushers out there, and the waves were so bodacious that I didn’t wanna come back, but chartroose missed me (I always knew she had a thing for me), so here I am.  In case you’ve never played this before, here are the instuctions:

  • I summarize the plot of a book and you guess it.  Leave a comment containing the title and author.  The very first commenter wins, so part of this is timing and luck, too.   I’m pretty sure that winning this contest is kinda like hovering on a heaving lip and then droppin’ into a crackin’ cave and goin’ deep all the way until it fades just right.  What a rush! 

Today’s winner will receive a $25 online gift certificate to The Tattered Cover Bookstore in Denver, Colorado.  The TC is one of the few large independent bookstores left, and it’s majorly rict, dudes!

Here goes:
(If you haven’t read this, you probably won’t be able to guess it.  Sorry dudes; they can’t all be easy)!  There’s this young dude who is a real dork, but he’s kinda cool too.  He’s a student, and one day when he’s conducting field research, he gets chomped by a rattlesnake.  He makes it back to his cabin and, while he’s lying there fighting for his life, he catches a killer disease, but the snake venom works as an antidote and he lives.  When he heads back to the real world, he finds out there is no real world anymore.  Practically everyone bit it because of the killer disease, and he’s one of the few survivors.  The rest of the novel talks about what happens to him and the other surviving dudes and dudettes as they struggle to rebuild civilization.  Chartroose has read this several times, and is always totally blown away by its dunzo awesomeness!

What is it?  Remember, chartroose wants both title AND author.  Good luck!

Responses

  1. Earth Abides by George R. Stewart

    Am I right??

  2. Yes, Riva, you’re right! Congrats! Send your e-mail address to chartroose @ yahoo dot com. How coolaphonic–woot!

  3. Oh wow. That sounds like a good one and I’ve never heard of it before. Thanks!

  4. Darn. You’re right AND you’re first, Riva! Of course, I wouldn’t have won anyway unless I googled the author’s name, all I could think of was George. Handy that, knowing the first names of authors.

  5. What a fun contest! I wouldn’t have won because I haven’t read the book and I was totally clueless. I can see why you missed the Surfer Dude! ;)

  6. Augh, I came too late! Well, Chartroose, I just tagged you for a bookshelf meme (if you haven’t already done it).

  7. What an awesome contest, and a really creative way to do a book give away! Plus, I’m not going to lie, the picture above was a pretty good way to start the day!

  8. Aww, I had it but I’m behind on my blog reading. Congrats, Riva.

  9. Haven’t read the book, but I will second your opinion of the Tattered Cover. The LoDo location is great, but I like the one in the old theater on Colfax even more. Employees are a tremendous help, too.

  10. [...] Chartroose’s reviews are always funny and insightful, and you’ve just gotta love her Surfer Dude’s Guess That Gnarly Gnovel [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

