Posted by: chartroose | June 4, 2009

Taking a Bit of a Break

I’m feeling (and looking) a bit like this poor unfortunate, except I can’t even use addiction as an excuse!  There’s just too much work and not enough down time happening right now.

I have a traumatic brain injury presentation to give next week, so I’m kind of stressing out about that, especially since I haven’t even started preparing for it.  I’m presenting to a bunch of directors and administrators, and I’m really afraid that I’m going to f*#k it up, thus ruining my budding reputation (har) as a bad-ass speaker.  Actually, I HATE public speaking, but people keep wanting me to do it and I have problems saying no.  Hey, maybe I should totally mess it up so they never ask me again!

I’m a hospital librarian, and we are a dying breed.  Many of my colleagues are either having their hours cut or are losing their jobs altogether.  One of my closest librarian friends here in town recently lost her job, and she worked for her employer for over twenty years!  She found out that they were going to shut the library down on a Monday, and by Friday of that same week, she was out the door.  She had to fight for a severance package too (those bastards).  She fine, though; she’s now working at the Univ. of Texas, Austin.  They snapped her up right away.

I’m one of two medical librarians in the Springs who is working full-time (or working at all).  The other full-timer works for the military, so she doesn’t really count.  Non-military folks aren’t usually allowed in her library, so it’s basically little ol’ me who provides most of the specialized medical info and resources for this neck of the woods, and it has become pretty demanding.  I’m getting calls from physicians I’ve never even heard of, and some of them are asking for complex and lengthy medical information searches.  I’m also starting to provide fee-for-service work to a couple of government agencies here in town (that have a biomedical focus).  It seems like I’m THE medical information broker for Colorado Springs and its surrounding communities.  Maybe I should ask for a raise!

I’m pretty burned-out at the moment.  If I’m not searching for CDC Tuberculosis guidelines for a freaked-out family practice physician, I’m providing telephone reference to a person who wants to find out about a drug-drug interaction, or I’m showing a group of nurses how to search for evidence based nursing information on one of our databases, or I’m trying to locate a very old medical book entitled A Treatise on the Scurvy, which was written in the mid-1700’s and can’t be found in any of my affliated lending libraries.

So, I’m going to take a blogging break for a week or two, and I’m going to try to catch up and de-stress a bit.  If all goes as planned, I will return to blogging a new gal, and I will be every bit as lovely as my alter-ego was when she was in her prime.  In case you’ve forgotten, I look almost exactly like this when I’m feeling rested and healthy, well, except for the hair.  And the pearls–I don’t do pearls.


(BTW — I’m a liar. I’m waaaay better looking than Grace Kelly)!

SEE YOU IN ABOUT A WEEK!


Responses

  1. You do look just like Grace. The other image, at top, isn’t showing up. But, don’t worry about that. You’re very busy. Have a nice break!

  2. Best of luck with all that craziness! I’ll be looking forward to your return.

  3. I’ll wait for you with baited breath. :)

  4. Whew, it does sound like you need a break! We’ll wait patiently until you’re back. (Do you ever learn fascinating, obscure stuff while researching materials for physicians?)

  5. Wow you really need a break. I hope everything goes well.

  6. Wow, what an interesting, but stressful sounding, job. I hope things get better and you get a chance to catch your breath.

  7. Good luck! We’ll see you when you get back!

    Lezlie

  8. Enjoy your break – I hope your presentation goes well, and that things quiet down for you for a while. :)

  9. Well my dear, you will be missed, but we’ll still be here when you get back. Chill out, get some rest, and we’ll talk again soon. :)

  10. Good luck with the presentation! I’ll be eagerly awaiting your return. :-)

  11. That sounds stressful. All the best for your presentation. Hope you come back rejuvenated.

  12. Hope all goes well for you and you de-stress successfully. We’ll just have to cope somehow with your absence. Maybe we can form a support group “bloody hell! bloody hell it’s a book barrage is taking a break”. Or BHBHIABBITAB for short. Catchy, eh?

  13. Don’t forget to breathe. Take care. See you soon.

  14. Been there, done that. Being a medical librarian definitely has its pluses, but yes, they do like presentations, don’t they?

    Take care, and good luck!

  15. O dear lord, sounds like you are swamped! I just got my Master’s in Library and Info Science and can’t even imagine the job you do. You rock! I am hopefully going to try and enter the digital world….seems like that’s where everything is going, online. We’ll see, right!

  16. That sucks what they did to your friend, glad she’s gainfully employed again!

    You’ll be fabulous. It does sound like an interesting topic. Maybe you could demonstrate on various audience members?

    Enjoy your break! Ignore that I tagged you.

  17. Those pearls look a bit tight around the neck, anyway.

    Be good, be well, recharge. We’ll still be here. But we’ll still be looking at the Google Reader checking for that new post (1) in BOLD…
    :)

  18. BHBHIABBITAB ?!

    \m/> <\m/

    (If I'm hip enough… that is me holding up two hands showing the 'this rocks' or something but I'm old in relative terms and really don't know that many hip kids to ask.)

  19. LOL-Best “before” and “after” pictures ever! Good luck with your presentation.

  20. So is it appopriate to say “knock ‘em dead” if you’re presenting to medical people?

    Good luck, and I hope you get some time to recharge your batteries!

  21. Enjoy your break, and good luck with all your presentations!

  22. Have a great break! I definitely know what it feels like to need some personal time. Sometimes you just need to step away from it all before you blow a gasket.

    Can’t wait for your return! I hope you read some great things while you’re away. :)

  23. Enjoy the break! It’s totally necessary sometimes. We’ll miss you.

  24. don’t worry…we’ll still be here when you get back!!! :)

  25. Hope your break has been a good one. I received The Borrowers. Thank you!

  26. Salut vous comment trouvez-vous de mon nouveau blog sur l’immobilier?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

