Posted by: chartroose | January 7, 2008

The Rest of Her Life

restofherlife234.jpeg 

Laura Moriarty, 2007, 320 p.

This was another winner by Ms. Moriarty.  Although I didn’t like it as well as “The Center of Everything,” I did find it quite intriguing.  The plot starts with a teenaged girl who hits a classmate with her car and kills her.  The rest of the novel is about what happens afterwards, and is told by the mother (Leigh) instead of the daughter (Cara).  I couldn’t stand Leigh, but that’s okay.  It’s sometimes nice to dislike the characters in a book, because you find yourself trying to figure out why they are so awful.  By the end of the book I felt like I understood Leigh.  I knew why she was so self-absorbed and I could even empathize with her, but I still didn’t care for her.

I agree with some critics that say that all characters except for Leigh were kind of two dimensional.  Because of this, I give this book 4 hearts.

♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

Categories

