Posted by: chartroose | February 29, 2008

In Praise of Leonard Nimoy

spock11.jpgspock1.jpgspock9.jpgspock8.jpgspock7.jpgspock6.jpgspock5.jpgspock4.jpgspock3.jpg 

Did you know that Leonard Nimoy has recorded more albums than The Beatles?  He has also published several books of poetry.  Here’s an example of one of his poems:

I love you
not for what
I want you to be
But for what you are

I loved you then
For what you were
I love you now
for what you have become

I miss you
And not only you

I miss what I am
When you are here…
     

 -Leonard Nimoy

Now, I’m not going to be cruel, because it’s Leonard Nimoy, and you can’t be cruel to Leonard Nimoy.  I’ll just say that this poem is not exactly Pulizer material, is it?  You have to give the guy kudos for trying, though.  At least he had the guts to do it.

A long time ago, I heard him sing a cover of “Ruby, Don’t Take Your Love to Town,” and it was pretty good.  I can’t find it online, guldurnit!  One of these days, maybe I’ll locate it and provide a link. 

For now, the following You Tube video of Nimoy singing “The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins” will have to do.  Since Bilbo is a beloved fictional character, the video fits neatly into this blog.  Watching this reminded me of how much I adore Leonard Nimoy.  The dude has always known how to have fun (or maybe in this case it was some good drugs helping him along).

Responses

  1. Ha ha! I used to have a vinyl copy of “Mr Spock’s Music from Outer Space”! It always went down well at parties … although you may wonder what sort of parties I attended.

  2. If your little avatar is any indication, I think I have a pretty good idea!

    Didn’t he do an album of science fiction book readings? I’m going to have to look that up.

  3. I have Nimoy and Shatner. Never been able to hear Brent Spiner’s Ol’ Yellow Eyes Is Back though. I expect it will be appropriately awful. Similarly connected, having starred in the Lord Of The Rings movies, there’s Christopher Lee’s Revelation album of covers.

  4. I didn’t know Christopher Lee cut an album, although I’ve always heard that he has a great baritone voice. I remember going to his old Dracula movies at the drive-in. I was a teeny kid, and they scared me half to death!

    There’s a you tube recording of Spiner reciting an ode to his cat on TNG. It’s pretty funny.

    God, what geeks we are!

  5. […] Yes, that Leonard Nimoy. No, I’m not making it up. No, I haven’t taken anything. Look, if you don’t believe me, go and take a look for yourself over at Bloody Hell, It’s a Book Barrage. […]

  6. […]  In this film, he brings his slow drawl, huge grin, lanky frame and some outfits filched from Leonard Nimoy‘s closet to the then-popular role of the “Superspy.”  (The tagline to the first […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

