Posted by: chartroose | March 20, 2008

The End – Booking Through Thursday

btt2.jpg

Okay, I’m going to start participating.  Here’s today’s Booking Through Thursday question:

Question:  “You’ve just reached the end of a book . . . what do you do now? Savor and muse over the book? Dive right into the next one? Go take the dog for a walk, the kids to the park, before even thinking about the next book you’re going to read? What?

(Obviously, there can be more than one answer, here–a book with a cliff-hanger is going to engender different reactions than a serene stand-alone, but you get the idea!)”

Answer:  Usually, I’ll toss the book aside and almost immediately start another.  Of course, this all depends upon how good it was.  If it was excellent, like Angle of Repose, I’ll find myself rereading entire sections or the ending, at least.  After finishing How Green Was My Valley for the first time, I reread the last few lines over and over again, weeping copiously into my pillow.  I was mourning both the extremely sad fictional ending and the ending of my real-life relationship with the characters and the story.

I read The Exorcist when I was about 14 or 15, and reread many of the grosser and more titillating parts when I finished it.  It wasn’t just a cheap thrill for me, though.  I was so enthralled by the novel that I went on to study Satanism and demonic possession on my own and learned quite a bit.  (Don’t worry, I’m not a Devil worshipper).  So, some stories keep pulling you in long after you’ve finished them.  I must say that my relationship with The Exorcist has never really ended, because I still find myself perusing books on the darker side of religion every once in awhile.

I forget the majority of books I read, though, which is why I started this blog.  Forgettable novels are either thrown away or given away.  And, that’s the end of this post! 

Hey, if you decide to participate, leave me a comment about it so I can go to your blog and check out what you have to say.

Responses

  1. I’ve put How Green Was My Valley on my Bookmooch Wishlist.

    I forget the majority of novels I read as well. But I hate not having a book *in progress*, so it’s very little time between finishing one and starting another.

    Great post for your first BTT!! 😀

  2. Thank you, Trish! I’ll check at home to see if I still have a copy of How Green… If I do, I’ll send it to you!

  3. I think it’s very true that there are some books to which we keep returning in our thoughts even though we may have physically moved on to other things. These are the books to which I return when I’m not feeling on top of things and need to sink back into a comfort zone, a reminder of a time when I was connecting properly – like old friends really.

  4. You’re absolutely right, Ann! Lately, I’ve been thinking about “To Kill a Mockingbird” quite a bit. It looks like it’s time for a reread!

  5. Great BTT post!

    I actually start to read slower as I get to the ending of a book I love.. just hating the idea that it has to end.

    Oh, I tagged you for a meme.. go see.

  6. Thanks, Lisa–I’ll check it out.

  7. Good post!

    I’m almost always reading a book–sometimes starting one even before I finish the last book! However, certain books stay with me for years just as you mention and those I think about and often read again and again.

  8. Oh, I so loved Angle of Repose! I’ve even been thinking about rereading it lately — So good… I’m posting my answer to the question on my blog tonight… check it out!

  9. I, too, forget most of the books I read…which is why I started blogging about them too.
    Nice answer…I hope you keep joining in!

  10. Yep, Kristen, “Angle of Repose” is brilliant. Another reread for me as well.

    Softdrink – I’m going to try to keep particpating. I need to check out your blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

