Posted by: chartroose | April 16, 2008

Why Do I Read?

Care posted about why she reads on her blog, and I have decided to respond with my own post, like Dewey over at The Hidden Side of a Leaf.

I can’t remember ever not reading. It’s something I’ve always done, even when I was a tiny kid. Now it’s such a habit that I absolutely have to read every night before bed. Even if I’m bed-spinningly, bucket-pukingly drunk-as-a-skunk and I can’t focus on the page, I still have to read before sleeping. It’s another one of those OCD things, ya’ know.

Also, I read because it makes me cool. Nothing makes me feel more noticed or desired than toting around a heavy tome, especially if it’s written by a highly regarded author, like Tom Clancy or Nora Roberts ( : (If you don’t believe this, read my Sylvia Plath post). I like to flash the books I’m reading at complete strangers so that they’ll know how deep and worldly and absolutely brilliant I am. Sometimes this backfires, especially if the book I flash has a cover like this:

Mainly, though, I read because it makes me feel like I’m part of something greater than my own little life. Reading is a wonderful escape and it’s highly personal and the best novels can transform me, at least for a little while.

And this is why I read.

The End

Responses

  1. Ha ha, that book cover is the best! Did you really take that out in public? SO BRAVE. I wish you would have linked to the Sylvia Plath post!

  2. Oh no, Dew, I’ve never read Linda Lovelace. A friend of mine reads those ridiculous romances with the Fabio style covers. She’s so embarrassed by them that she covers them with a homemade book cover so people can’t see what she’s reading.

  3. You ARE cool!

    I would read that book. I’m still trying to talk myself into this one, though: this (did the linking work!?)

    Why do most people try to hide what they are reading?!

  4. Hey, I’d like to read that! I’ll interlibrary loan it and then blog about it. It should be a hoot. Thanks, Care!

  5. […] This question has been circulating around book blogs today, so inspired by the responses of Chartroose and Becky, I decided I’m going to take a crack at […]

  6. You are definitely cool!! I read for escape and pleasure.

  7. Great post! I also have to read–even for only a few minutes–before I go to sleep. I love the cover–I’m sure if you flash one like that you get a few looks!

    Books are such a wonderful escape and when a book transforms us and stays with us…that’s magic.

  8. “Reading is a wonderful escape and it’s highly personal and the best novels can transform me, at least for a little while. ”

    So true.

  9. Thanks, Lisa, Jan & Nymeth!

    I wonder how many devoted readers have to read before they sleep. I also wonder if we all started reading when we were teeny little kids. Perhaps it’s time for a poll…


Leave a Reply

Categories

