Posted by: chartroose | April 30, 2008

Six Random Things About Myself

Earlier this week, I got tagged by Kirsti, the creator of one of my favorite book blogs, Other Stories, to participate in the six random things about myself meme.  Since I tend to open up waaay too much when asked about myself, I’m going to be sort of careful about what I divulge here.  I hope this isn’t too boring!  Here goes:

  1. I was an accomplished reader and writer when I started school, so I was skipped from the first to the third grade.  Big mistake, because my peers really bullied me, and I spent the rest of my childhood and adolescence copping an attitude (as a defense) and getting into hot water with authority figures.
  2. I look like a much taller version of Jodie Foster — not as much now as when I was a kid, but people still comment on it.  Fortunately, I was never stalked by John Hinckley, although I was pursued by a really annoying little dude named Ralph B_____ in college.  Ralph became such a problem that a couple of my guy friends “had a little talk” with him.  I’ve always felt bad about this. 
  3. I grew six inches during the summer between 7th and 8th grade.  It was very painful, and now I’m pretty sure I’m getting arthritis in my knees because of it.  Walking long distances helps curb the knee pain.
  4. I memorized most of William Blake’s poetry in middle school and would recite it silently to myself during stressful times.  What a total geekazoid I was!
  5. I tend to anthropomorphise inanimate objects, especially cars.  My cars are named “Bullet” and “Buzz” and I often thank them for the ride.  I know, this sounds so trailer trashy!  Bullet, for God’s sake!
  6. I have a thing for redheaded men.  This started in elementary school when I developed a crush on a ginger-haired boy because he blinked really slowly.  I found that to be quite impressive, so later on in life, I married a redheaded man.  He turned out to be a total asshat and we divorced, but even this has not prevented me from perpetuating my dream of finding the ideal redhead.  Isn’t it ridiculous?

Okay, it’s time to tag six other bloggers.  

  1. Devourer at Devourer of Books 
  2. Stephen Lang at Booked Out
  3. Tracee at Amateur de Livre
  4. Misa at This Redhead Reads
  5. Kathleen at Kathleeen’s Book Reviews
  6. Aaron at That’s the Book!

Here are the rules:

  • Link to the person that tagged you (hello, it’s me)
  • Post the rules somewhere in your meme
  • Write the six random things
  • Tag six people in your post
  • Let the tagees know they’ve been chosen by leaving a comment on their blog
  • Let the tagger (hello, it’s me) know your entry is posted

That’s all folks!

Responses

  1. OMG! So does that mean your ideal guy is Jamie Fraser? Sweet!

  2. TY –

    Yessss, oh yes! Jamie is mine — no one else can have him, and Claire Randall NEEDS TO DIE!

    P.S. Why do you think I like RG so much? It’s quite embarassing!

  3. Hey, here’s the link to my 6 things. I’m sort of cheating because I actually did this meme a week or two ago, but I’m still excited you tagged me, so that I can read your blog now! Hope I’m still a Kool Kid!

  4. Yes, Dev, you’re definitely one of the Kool Kids now!

  5. […] got tagged again by chartroose to write 6 Random Things about myself.  You can check out her list here.  And you can check out my post on that meme here.  Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

  6. OHHHHHKAAAAAY
    This is very very strange! We have many things in common, you and I.

    I could also read and write before I started school, so in 1st grade, they wanted to double-promote me to 3rd grade. My mom wasn’t having any of that. She worried about my being younger than everyone and thought I’d become a social outcast. No double-promoting for me.

    I grew 5″ to my current height of 5′ 9 1/2″ during the summer between 5th and 6th grade. My mom said she could practically see me growing. Went up 3 shoe sizes that summer too.

    I also name my cars- well, my kids do anyway. My Nissan Quest is known affectionately as “Vanna”.

    My 1st boyfriend was a redhead and I too have always had a thing for redheads. We dated for 3 years-all through high school. I didn’t marry one but I still like to look at them.

    Freaky, no??

  7. Good lord, Lisa! This is too wierd. Are you sure we aren’t related? Your mom was insightful and it’s good she didn’t let them promote you early.

    Did you have growing pains too?

  8. Hey, I’m a red-headed man…

    (I’m away for the next few days but I’ll pick this meme up next week!)

  9. Alright, so I’ve completed the meme
    http://thatsthebook.wordpress.com/2008/05/01/im-it-six-rand…s-about-myselfim-it-six-random-things-about-myself/

  10. You got me! I posted it at my other blog though – http://ritualmadness.wordpress.com – Thanks for the fun!

  11. Stephen –
    You’re a redhead? No wonder I feel a strange sort of kinship with you. It’s a good thing we have an ocean separating us!

    Aaron –
    I just commented on your site, and I’ll be adding you to my ever expanding blogroll. Nice to meet you!

  12. I like redheaded men, too. Mark McGwire is a fairly recent example.

  13. Oh Bybee, Mark McGwire! He has quite a build (or he used to). I haven’t seen him in awhile.

    I really like the lead singer of Queens of the Stone Age too. His name is Josh Homme, and he’s totally sublime!

    I’m going to check out your site later on this weekend.

  14. Wow, totally didn’t realize I got tagged! I’ll have to do this asap 🙂 thanks

  15. […] ashamed to admit that I was tagged way back in April by Bloody Hell, It’s a Book Barrage! and never got around to doing it. So […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

