Posted by: chartroose | July 10, 2008

Christmas in July Giveaway!

Since I haven’t been able to see very well for the past several days (and thus haven’t been able to read very well either) I’ve spent some of my time thinking about what makes a great novel.  There are plenty of good novels out there–books that are gramatically correct and have well-developed plots, characters, etc., but they can’t be classified as great.  Great novels have an extra sumpin’ sumpin’; elements that make you gasp with surprise or pleasure, or weep with despair.  Great novels touch your heart, and you remember them and think about them long after you’ve moved on to another (lesser) book.

One of my all-time favorite novels is Geek Love, by Katherine Dunn.  It has that extra sumpin’ sumpin’ and then some.  It is the most unique novel I’ve ever read, and I will never forget it. 

Last month, I bought three used paperback copies of Geek Love to give away and then got busy and forgot about them.  Well, they’re still here, and now they’re up for grabs.  If you’d like to win one of these copies, leave a comment.  If there are more than three entrants, I’ll draw names out of a hat at noon on Monday, July 14th.  Good luck!    

Responses

  1. Hey, count me in! I would like a copy!rachel@daddyrich.net

    Thanks and hope to hear from you!

  2. Oh, enter me please!

  3. That sounds like a great book. I’d love to win it – throw my name in the hat.

  4. i guess you’ll have to draw names b/c I’m the 4th commentor! thanks for the giveaway. 🙂

  5. Unique? I’m all about unique! So count me in, too, please.

  6. Ha ha, I have a copy of this from the library sitting on my shelf right this very minute. I had been meaning to read it for ages and I finally went & got it when I read one of your earlier posts. So, don’t enter me into the drawing… but I do look forward to reading it soon. 🙂

  7. Me again. Just as I finished writing the previous comment my 9yo daughter walked in, glanced over my shoulder and said, “Hey, it’s Monty Python.” Heh heh, we must be doing something right. 😉

  8. Please add me to the mix! I’d love a good read!

  9. Please throw me in the hat!

  10. I would like to enter your drawing. That book sounds really interesting! Thanks Summer Santa! 🙂

  11. Thanks for the giveaway I would love to win!

  12. With a recommendation like “It has that extra sumpin’ sumpin’ and then some,” I can’t help but want it! Please enter me in the drawing.

  13. I would love to read this! Thank you for the chance!!

  14. Sounds like a great book!! Thank you for the giveaway!

  15. Oh, please include my name in the drawing. The book sound interesting!

  16. I would love to be entered, particularly because I’ll be off in love on my honeymoon, and my fiance and I are both big geeks (well, big nerds at least).

  17. Looks like a fun summertime read!

  18. I would love a copy of this book. Please enter me, and thanks!
    ayancey@dishmail.net

  19. I’ve been hearing a lot lately about “Geek Love” and what a great book it is. I’d love to read it!

  20. Please enter me; I am geek wannabe! I love the picture at the top of your blog- too funny!

  21. Enter me too. It sounds like a good one.

  22. Sounds interesting,I want to read this book. Count me in to win, I want sumpin’ sumpin’ more !!

  23. Well, I hope I get lucky … but, if not, I have put it on my library wishlist!

  24. You peeked my interest. I would love to read this! Thank you for the chance!!

  25. I have not heard of Greek Love but would love to make it my summer read.

  26. this sounds like a great book, please count me in!

  27. Please put my name in there. Would love to have a good book to read by the pool.

  28. count me in, thanks for the contest

  29. Oh, I hope I’m not too late! My friend totally loves this book…I’d love to see what she’s raving about. 😀

  30. I’d love to give this book a read. Count me in!!!

  31. Hey, that’s funny, I just got this book out of the library. I hope everyone gets a hold of it and reads it – the discussion should be really good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

