Posted by: chartroose | July 25, 2008

Surfer Dude’s Guess That Gnarly Gnovel #3

 

Howzit, all you cooleoleol bloggin’ brainers in electronirvana?  I’m having a totally lala summer, just hangin’ and shreddin’ the gnarls and scopin’ the crippler chicks here at the beach.

Chartroose is totally whack because she keeps hosting these contests where she gives away majorly dunzo prizes for nothing!  She says it’s good Karma, but I think she’s kind of being a donk.  Whatever, dudes!  This time Chartroose will be awarding a $25 Starbucks gift card to the first person to correctly guess the title and author of the following novel.  Good luck dudes, and may the fastest zepherr win!

Here it is:

So there’s this real brutal and aggro jarhead dad who moves his family to the south.  This dude’s a total loser alcoholic–he’s totally whacked-out and beats down on his old lady and stuff.  There are four kids in the family, and the oldest son is a totally awesome basketball player.  The kid keeps being embarassed by his nutter burnout dad who comes to his basketball games all trashed and yellin’ at him and stuff.  Later in the book, the kid makes friends with this murffy African American dude and they become best bruddahs. Something totally foobar happens to the African American dude because he has a beef with a racist hater who wants to bash him. I’d better not say any more than this!

What is this gnarly gnovel, and who wrote it?

Responses

  1. The Great Santini, by Pat Conroy!!

  2. Woot softdrink, you’ve done it again! You’re one totally boglious shea! Chartroose will be sending it out sometime next week. Congrats!

  3. Congratulations, softdrink! I had absolutely no idea, but I had fun reading the description. What a fun idea! 🙂 It reminds me of how we used to hum songs to each other as kids and try to figure it out. I love that kind of stuff, but I’m usually no good at it.

  4. I seriously had the opp to be the first comment and I googled and fiction=finded and hunted for the answer cuz I knew I had never read it….

    I even typed a ‘no clue’ comment and thought it was too lame…

    Congrats softdrink!! (has she won ALL the gnarly gnovel contests?!)

  5. Yes!!

    Although, I think I need to stop entering contests and giveaways for awhile…I’m getting a little too lucky. It’s kinda scary.

  6. Yeah, Literate, believe it or not, these are kind of hard to do. I love my surfer dude, though, so I can’t let him go! I think softdrink loves her surfer dude too!

    Aww, I’m sorry, Curious C. It’s a tough one to decipher because the novel is fairly old.

    softdrink–I know this sounds so flaky, but I really do believe in karma, and I think you’ve probably done some really cool things for a person or person(s) lately, and it’s all coming back to you now. Also, I just heard from Sarah Vowell’s agent–he wants me to read an advance copy of her next book. Isn’t that cool?


Leave a Reply

Categories

