Posted by: chartroose | August 4, 2008

My Astonishing 101st Post Giveaway!

I was supposed to host this giveaway on my 100th post, but then I got the Brilliante award. Since I am the way I am, I had to brag about that first, of course!

I’ve decided to do something special for my 101st post because I’ve thoroughly enjoyed authoring this blog, much more than I ever thought I would.  The reason this has become such a special endeavor for me is you–each and every one of you.  Without your support and comments and the camaraderie and affection I feel for all of you, my blog would be a boring little reading diary, withering in obscurity somewhere in cyberspace.  While I know I will never draw in the sizeable audiences that blogs like The Daily Kos or Dooce experience on a daily basis (thank God), I’m pleasantly surprised every time I see my stats and read the growing number of comments this little site is receiving.  Who woulda thunk it?   

I thought and thought about the prizes I’d like to give away.  I didn’t want to do a book giveaway, because everybody (including me) does those.  It had to be literary, though, so I finally bit the bullet and bought these:

They’re called “Literary Action Figures.”  I was afraid that they’d be pretty chintzy looking (and they are in a way), but they’re pretty cute too.  I’m partial to the Oscar Wilde figure, and Poe is quite cool as well.  In case you can’t recognize them, they are Shakespeare, Jane Austen, Oscar Wilde, Charles Dickens, and Edgar A. Poe.  They’ll look really cute sitting on your desk or hanging out on your bookcase.

I will draw five names and give away five action figures on Monday, August 11 at around noon.  One entry per person, please!  I think I’ll choose which winner gets which figure according to letter placement, because I’m strange that way.  If someone named Sharon is one of the five winners, she’ll probably get Shakespeare.  If someone named Gavin wins, he’ll probably get Edgar Allan Poe.  See how that works?  If you all have weird names like Mortimer, I think I’ll just throw the five names in the air and see which figure they land next to. 

So, leave your comment right away, and make sure that you have a legitimate way for me to get in touch after the drawing.  Good luck, everyone!  This is going to be great fun!   

Responses

  1. What fun! I’ve often wanted a literary action figure, but I’ve never bought one for myself. E-mail addy is on my blog in case I win. Which I doubt, because I never win anything, but one can hope!

  2. […] Read the rest here: My Astonishing 101st Post Giveaway! […]

  3. Congratulations on your 101th post! The literary figures are adorable. My initials are J.A., so I’ll bet you can guess which one I want most.

  4. congrats on your centennial post! mine is tomorrow…it would be fun to win one of these action figures. i’m crossing my fingers!!!

  5. Um, those are absolutely amazing. My initials are J.K. now. If I win you can leave a message on my blog or find my email there =)

  6. My name isn’t really Tasses so you can just call me Edward Albert Penn. Yeah, that’s it.

    Email (for when I win) is on my main personal/portal blog linking from that fake name, Tasses, up there.

    Oh! and congrats are in order too 🙂

  7. Congrats on your 101st post, and cool giveaway prize!

  8. Brilliant! Enter me please!!! 🙂

  9. Those are great. Enter me please! My initials are A.S.

    Congrats on your 101 post 🙂

  10. Congratulations on 101!!! What a wonderful give away and it’s so unique! I’ve never been so happy that my name is Jennifer before. I love Jane Austen. 🙂 I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

  11. Those guys are so cute! Count me in 🙂

  12. Are you sure that’s Charles Dickens? It looks a lot like the deranged homeless guy I see downtown every day.

  13. Congratulations on 101 posts, and here’s to 1001. Your blog is one of my favorites.

    And I hope my name gets drawn, because that Shakespeare figure totally has my name on it. Literally.

  14. I love those action figures! I’ve seen them before and I’ve been so tempted by them 🙂 Count me in please! Congrats on the 101st post!!!

  15. That is just too cool…I would love to win, PLEASE!!!

  16. It just makes good sense that LI-sa should get a LI-terary Action Figure, does it not? Is that a tiny little raven on Eddie’s shoulder? LOL

    Congrats on your 101st post! Your blog is one of my favorites!!

    PS I do not have any idea how many posts I’ve had.. I’m so curious now that I will have to go look.

  17. Those are the greatest things ever! Congratulations on 101 posts! (I should comment more, I enjoy reading your blog)

  18. I wonder which one I would win. I hope it is Poe because he is my fav. Hope to win one of these cool figures!
    Congrats on your post!

  19. Count me in!

  20. Big congrats on your 101st post! I can’t believe it took me so long to find your blog!

    The figures are like, totally far cool! Though Poe is looking pretty nervous about that raven perched on his shoulder!

    I’d love to enter, though I too and blessed with the never win curse, so I feel ya Andi!My initials are C.P, and my contact details can be found on my about page. 😀

  21. Each figure is cuter than the last. I’m partial to the Poe one, with the little raven on his shoulder. If I liked football, I’d be a Baltimore Ravens fan, just because they’re the only team with a literary name. I was smarty-pleased with myself that my football-mad husband never made the connection.

    Too bad you don’t have any of the Bronte sisters up there…I’d be a shoo-in: BybeE…BrontE

    *sigh*

    Congrats on your 101st post…I’ve loved your blog since I discovered it on Aaron’s blog, That’s The Book!

  22. What a wonderful celebration idea – I love the action figures. I think Poe might be my favorite – just his expression alone. No need to enter me in the drawing, it’s a pain to send things to switzerland. 🙂

  23. You are too funny. My puppy’s name is Oscar (I’m not sure which author matches ‘Care’? but now that I actually attempt some THOUGHT – Care is a fem form of Charles….)

    congrats on the many awesome posts – keep ’em coming!

  24. Aw, those action figures are too cute! Count me in!

  25. What fun, I love contests!

  26. What a nice post! I like the Austen and Poe figures myself! Does it count that I have a A for Austen and P for Poe in my first name? 🙂

  27. Those are amazing! I’ve seen the Shakespeare one (since I work for the Stratford Shakespeare Festival). The Poe one is definitely awesome as is the Wild. I love this blog and look forward to reading it when I have the chance.

  28. Oh those are too cool! I’ve never seen literary action figures before, but now that I have, I need one! Thanks for offering this, I sure hope I win one.

  29. Congrats on your 101st post! I hope I make it to that!

    I’d love to win the Oscar Wilde…he’s very dapper.

  30. Oh, this is the coolest giveaway. I am a little scared of Poe though. Always have been….

  31. P.S. My middle name is Jane.

  32. Oh how cute are those!
    Please add me to the pot.
    And thanks for keeping up the posting, we know it’s hard work!

  33. God bless our troops
    Good contest

  34. Oh, I have much more claim to Oscar Wilde than bkclubcare or Kathleen do! But don’t put me in the contest, I just wanted to comment a congratulations (ungrammatically but alliteratively).

  35. Hi Chartroose,
    Congratulations on 101. If your blog was a sitcom, you would be ready to go into syndication.
    Please enter me in your contest – I am Wilde about Dickens (both have a D in them).
    The odds of my winning are about the same as the Cubs winning the World Series or my beloved SF Giants moving above .500 this season, but my participation should improve the odds of the others who have entered.
    I like to read your blog, thanks for writing.
    Don

  36. Well, so much for my self-imposed ban. Your prizes are irresistible. And I’ve got so many names for you to choose from. Jill…Will(iam). Softdrink…Shakespeare. Fizz E. Beverage…Edgar A. Poe. Yup, I’m a shoe-in. 😉

  37. Cool Giveaway! I have to enter! Hmm name is Tracy which equals ….Jane Austen right? and my birthday is August 10th”)

  38. oh neat! I love those!

  39. 101 is much cooler than 100 anyway. Odd numbers always are.

  40. Clearly, the ‘U’ in my name has destined me for Jane Austen! Or perhaps the ‘R’ means I’m meant for Edgar Allan Poe?

    Great giveaway! 🙂

  41. What a fun contest!

  42. Woohoo! Congrats on your 1001st post! Those figurines are cool! I’d love one! Thanks!!

  43. So glad to have found your blog (via the Literate Hosuewife). I already have the Jane Austen action figure, but she could use some friends. I didn’t realize there were so many of these!

  44. What fun! You’re right it is all about ME. I’m narcissistic, self-involved, and have a girl’s name. Then again, I’m a girl. (Evelyn Waugh, who is EXCELLENT)

    I would LOVE a literary action figure if only to place it in front of my students and use it as an example of misnomer and irony.

    I found you through Literate Housewife and I think I’m just going to attach you to my blog as people to read. Hopefully you can click me and find me. Otherwise, http://suzannewynnell.wordpress.com.

  45. Congrats!! This contest is so cool. Those action figures are adorable. I’m very partial to the Oscar Wilde one….being a huge fan, but I love them all.
    -Lauren
    lauren51990@aol.com

  46. well this sounds like fun. count me in, please!

    Jena Lohrbach
    muse2323@gmail.com

    and I agree with Lisa–odd numbers are way better
    congrats on your 101st post!

  47. Chute, I think I’m late. Obviously I’m behind in my blog reading ’cause you’re one of my *favorites*. 😀

    BUT, if I’m not too late, then please enter me. I’d have to show this off if I won!


Leave a Reply

Categories

