Posted by: chartroose | August 25, 2008

Surfer Dude’s Guess That Gnarly Gnovel #4

Chartroose, that totally tonar and awesomely coolaphonic dally asked me to do this again, and I said, “Chyeah, anything for the shibbiest sis on the planet!”  (If Chartroose were rich, she could be such an uber cougar)!  So, here is the next selection for a totally rad prize—a $25.00 Barnes & Noble gift certificate.  Hey, maybe Chartroose IS rich!  Yo, Chartroose, do you want to be my cougar?  I’ll wear Speedos and clean your pool for you.  Chartroose!  Chartroose…?

Here is my plot synopsis. Chartroose is insisting on both author and title.  The first correct guess wins, so smoke this as fast as you can!

This is a really really really sad book and if you haven’t read it, you shouldn’t read it because it will make you cry and look like a puffer fish.  There’s this amputee dude and he’s in a hospital and he can’t see anything and he can’t say anything and he’s wrapped in bandages and he keeps having memories of his life and the war he was in.  There are no commas in this book.  By the end, he figures out a way to communicate, and because of this, he finally finds peace. What book is it?  Good luck!

Responses

  1. […] Original post by chartroose […]

  2. Ooh I think I know!

    The English Patient
    Michael Ondaatje

  3. (of course, I’ve never read it so I could be completely wrong, but that’s what I always assumed the book was about!)

  4. Nope, sorry Heather. This novel is older than that one. Try again!

  5. Is it Johnny Got His Gun by Dalton Trumbo?

  6. Jeane,

    Yes, yes, yes, you won! Hooray! You are a totally tubular and gnar gnar blogalicious babe! And you’re smart too! Woot! E-mail your address to chartroose at yahoo dot com, and she’ll send it your way.

  7. Damn! Too late, and I knew this one.

  8. Dang it, I knew that one too.

  9. I knew that one too. Read it in high school and it blew me away. When the nurse figured out how to communicate with the tapping on the forehead…. man. I cried- tears and snot and all.

  10. darn! I knew that one!!!!!
    I want to read that book so bad!

  11. Hi, Chartroose!

    Check my blog for an award you’ve received! 🙂

    Lezlie


Leave a Reply

Categories

