Posted by: chartroose | August 28, 2008

Master Plan Giveaway #1

I’ve decided I want to fashion everyone in my own image (since it’s such a good one), so every once in awhile I’ll offer a couple of my favorite books to you, my blogger friends.  Every copy I give away on these occassions will be the cheapest used paperbacks money can buy.  I’ll probably end up spending more on postage than I do on the actual book!

If my nefarious plan works out, these novels will have a cumulative effect and prove to be proficient brainwashing tools.  Soon, there will be a bunch of “mini-me” book bloggers on the web who share my tastes and opinions and never disagree with anything I say.  I will be the Jim Jones of the book blogging community, but instead of suffering through squirming death by poision kool-aid, my followers will writhe in ecstasy as they read moving passages from some of my invaluable choices.

Yes, that’s right, “…you would have a queen, not dark but beautiful and terrible as the dawn!…Stronger than the foundations of the earth!  All shall love me and despair!”

Perhaps this is a bit over the top.  I will stay where I am and remain chartroose.  Sigh…

The novel that is up for grabs this time is A Handful of Dust.  I have two old and yellowing Penguin copies that need to find an appreciative audience.  They don’t smell bad and the binding is okay, so if you’d like to read this excellent novel, leave me a comment.  If there are more than two takers, I’ll draw names on September 2nd.

Responses

  1. I wish to become like thee. Sign me up for some Evelyn Waugh.

  2. You never, ever cease to crack me up, just when I need it. 🙂 I’ve never read any Evelyn Waugh. I would immediately shout “Yes, me please!” but my ARC pile is so huge, who knows when I’d get to it. I love this contest, though. What a great idea.

    BTW, I got my Jane Austen action figure and she is now on my bookshelf guarding my beautiful collection of her novels. I’m going to blog about it on the Sunday Salon this week, so check it out. Thanks so much! I can’t tell you how much I love it.

  3. Ha! I already have a copy, so don’t put my name in the hopper, but I had to give you a round of applause for the LOTR reference. And the pic. Loved her look in the movie.

  4. That’s all you’re going to tell me about the book?? That it doesn’t smell??

    Since I’m already a chartreuse convert (Geek Love, anyone?), I’ll pass on this go-around.

    Oh, and I’ve been enjoying my Starbucks card this week. I’m sure management also appreciates you supplying the caffeine that has kept me awake.

  5. oooh definitely heard of that book, and it doesn’t smell bad?!? that is great hehe : )

  6. I already have this book so will pass on the giveaway, but I will read it soon so I can prove my worthiness to be one of your adoring fans. 🙂

  7. Ok, I’m going to hop on board here and say that I, too, already have this book but you get definite cool points for the LOTR reference! Oh, you make me laugh. You make me laugh so much. 🙂

  8. What better praise for a book than the fact that it doesn’t smell. 🙂 Throw my name in the hat, please.

  9. I’d say pick me pick me, but I’d feel too guilty asking you to send the book to OZ! 😀

  10. I’ll gladly take it! I would love to win a copy.

  11. […] copies of Evelyn Waugh’s A Handful of Dust from Bloody Hell, It’s a Book Barrage!, deadline 2 […]

  12. I enjoy reading new things, and this sounds great!

  13. I’d love to win a copy of the book – I love to read and have just started a book blog. 🙂 If anyone reads this comment and cares to check it out and give me pointers, I’d love it:

    http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com

  14. I’d be interested. Please include me if you haven’t drawn yet. Thanks!
    Rebekah

    monkeygirlsmama@gmail.com

  15. I know I live on the wrong damn continent, but I can’t resist…have heard so much about this book lately. Also, I’ve never read any Waugh.


Leave a Reply

Categories

