Posted by: chartroose | September 8, 2008

Win a copy of Matrimony by Josh Henkin…

…right here on this blog!  Leave a comment and I’ll draw the winner’s name on Friday, Sept 12.  Once the winner is picked, I’ll let Mr. Henkin know and he’ll autograph it and send it out to you.

I’d like to pay a little tribute to Joshua Henkin.  For one thing, I deeply respect the way he treats us lowly book bloggers as equal partners in his bookish affairs.  I’ve said this before, but it doesn’t hurt to repeat it: I adore authors.  I idolize many of them.  This is one of the major reasons why I started this blog, and I’m assuming there are many other book bloggers out there who feel the same way.  Hearing from authors whom I’ve read and enjoyed makes this whole blogging thing worthwhile.  I think it’s awesome that Josh is offering to give away signed copies through selected blogs because it’s a win/win for all concerned.

Matrimony has been selected as a New York Times Notable Book.  It’s also a Book Sense Highlight Pick of the Year and a Borders Original Voices Selection.  The most important laudation is this one:  The Chartroose Award for Outstanding Character Development in Modern Fiction.  This is a huge honor, because it is the only one of its kind, and it’s entirely exclusive to this blog!  Congratulations, Josh!

You can read my review of Matrimony here (and I must throw away all modesty and say I did a great job on this one).  There are other terrific reviews here, here and here.  Josh is also an occassional guest blogger on The Elegant Variation.  And, if you’re still curious about Josh, check out his website.   

Don’t forget to leave a comment for the giveaway!

Responses

  1. No need for modesty because you’re right, that review was superb! It is one of the best I have read on the book. I have read so many reviews and every single one was positive! I can hardly wait to read it. Thank you for offering a copy as a giveaway. Please include me in the drawing.

  2. i keep hearing about how great this book is but i have not gotten to read it yet : ( i hope i can though, soon : )

  3. Good grief, it seems like every blogger I know is having this giveaway. Joshua Henkin really is awesome.

  4. I think I love Joshua Henkin. I’ve read so many good reviews of Matrimony, I think I’m going to have to add it to my to-read tower of books!

  5. Oooh, I’ve been enjoying his recent posts on TEV. Count me in please!

  6. I’ve been dying to read this one!

  7. Ok I give in. I think everyone adores him and this book so I am getting very curious. Thanks for the contest and great review!

  8. The Netherlands here.
    Eager to participate.

    Gr, Frank.

  9. I’d love to read MATRIMONY, so please, pick my name!! Thanks for the chance.

  10. I enjoyed your review, and I love contests! So here is my comment. 🙂

  11. Although I’d love to win this book, don’t enter my name because I just won a book from you. I agree that he’s wonderful and wise for appreciating book bloggers.

  12. This book sounds fantastic, so please put my name in too. Thanks!

  13. thanks for the giveaway, please enter me 🙂

  14. I’ve been hearing nothing but good and yet more good about this book! Now that he’s received the Chartroose Award for Outstanding Character Development in Modern Fiction I must ask to have my name entered into the giveaway. Must read this book!

  15. Hi, Chartoose ! This is my first comment on your blog, of which I am a recent reader. Your review on “Matrimony” has definitely convinced me to add it on my TBR list. There seems to be no french translation of Joshua Henkin’s novels, which is good for me as I intend to read more books in english. Hope I’ll find a copy of it in my favourite american/parisian bookstore !

  16. I won’t put my name in for the giveaway but I do plan on getting a copy of this book via Amazon in my next ordering round (goodness, it sounds like I’m ordering drinks doesn’t it…course I do get most of my fun from books so its all one and the same). I’ve seen too much about it now to pass up.

    I think your award is certainly the most important!

  17. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  18. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! meknp and 4595kawuftmbft and 4475 : Great Blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

