Posted by: chartroose | November 7, 2008

Four Things Meme

Someone tagged me for this one awhile back, and I’m just now getting to it.  My apologies to the tagger for not giving you credit.  If you know who you are, let me know and I’ll let everyone else know, you know?

 

Four Jobs I’ve Had:

  1. Lifeguard
  2. Swimming Coach
  3. Security Guard at a bomb making facility (Rocky Flats).  Have you ever seen Silkwood?  Rocky Flats was eerily similar.
  4. Dispatcher for a trucking company

Rocky Flats guards circa 1990

*************************************************************************************

Four Movies I Can Watch Many Times:

  1. The Godfather
  2. Rear Window
  3. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy (this one is embarrassing)!
  4. Monty Python & the Holy Grail 

*************************************************************************************

Four Places I’ve Lived:

  1. Frankfurt, Germany
  2. Pacifica, CA
  3. Cambridge, MA
  4. Cascade, MD 

Ich Bin Ein Frankfurter, but I hate hot dogs!

************************************************************************************

Four TV Shows I Love(d):

  1. Are You Being Served?”
  2. “Monty Python’s Flying Circus”
  3. “The Amazing Race”
  4. “Masterpiece Theater” (sometimes) 

************************************************************************************

Four Places I’ve Vacationed:

  1. Italy
  2. The British Isles (except Ireland)
  3. Costa Rica
  4. Panama 

Blair Casle, Scotland
This place is amazing!  It has the only private army left in Europe, and it also houses the only female Laird in history!

********************************************************************************************************************

Four Novels (or series) I have enjoyed rereading:

  1. A Song of Ice and Fire (George R. R. Martin)
  2. The Tripods Trilogy  (John Christopher)
  3. The Stand (Stephen King)
  4. A Walk in the Woods (Bill Bryson)

************************************************************************************* 

Four Websites I Visit Often:

  1. The San Francisco Chronicle
  2. youtube
  3. The Guardian (U. K.)
  4. Flickr 

*************************************************************************************

Four Places I Would Rather Be Right Now:

1.      Outside, because it’s one of the last temperate days we’re going to have until April.

2.      The Galapagos Islands because I want to see giant turtles.

3.      In Alaska so I can try to see Russia from Sarah Palin’s house.

4.      Anywhere but at work.

 

 

 

The only Palin worth thinking

about.

  *************************************************************************************

Four bloggers I am tagging:

  1. Heather
  2. Steph
  3. Jill
  4. Care
Responses

  1. I’m glad you like “Are you being served”! And it’s good you’ve posted a photo from when the show was at its peak! Who was the old guy – was it Mr Grainger?

  2. Stephen–
    Yes, it was Mr. Grainger. That show was so ridiculous and fun!

  3. Hah! Are You Being Served is fantastic! I discovered this show a few years back and now I’m addicted to the re-runs on DeJaView — best line ever – “Mrs. Slocombe here, your next door neighbor. I wonder if you would do me a favor? Would you go to my front door, bend down and look through the letter slot? If you can see my pussy, would you drop a sardine on the mat?” 🙂

  4. You’ve had a more interesting life than I have.

    I was going to make a lame joke about all those Monty Python things you listed and then I decided, “No. It’s getting late. You’re tired and don’t want to show just how moronic you are.” So, I’m not. No MP jokes. Another day, maybe.

  5. This is such a fun meme! You’ve done some pretty interesting things, my lady! Security guard, eh? Did you too wear a funky yellow jumpsuit? And sport a large machine gun? (I don’t know if those are machine guns, but they’re large enough to look like they are).

    I might have to steal this meme (I promise to remember I stole it from you!). Ever since I started doing NaBloPoMo, I’ve been scrambling for things to post about. =)

  6. I read the first of the Tripods Trilogy back when I was a kid! I think I got halfway through the second one, and never found the last book (stumbled upon them at the used bookstore, the library has none).

  7. you were a security guard at a bomb making facility!? WOW. That’s freaking crazyyyyy
    Also, I went to Frankfurt for one day and it was the loveliest place EVER. I desperately want to go back!

  8. Mine’s up. Yours is more interesting… I have to admit that the first mention of Palin as McCain’s running mate, I was wondering, “Palin? Isn’t he British?”

  9. Go to Alaska to see the glaciers. Although sighting Russia would be fun. 🙂

    Pretty diverse jobs you’ve held!

    Oh, I am so behind on you. Stupid office not having telephone or internet lines.

  10. Hmmm… A security guard at a bomb making facility, who likes the Godfather, lived in Germany, visited Italy, and want’s to go where she can see Russia. You must be either a spy or some kind of underworld figure. Hmmm…

  11. Cool meme. I wish you had a picture of you in your little guard suit to post.

  12. Joanne–Mrs. Slocombe and her pussy, oh my goodness! I almost cried when I heard John Inman died. I just love that show. I’m going to have to break down and purchase it.

    Nancy–I’m crazy about John Cleese, and I try not to sing “The Lumberjack Song” in mixed company because nobody around here knows what it is anyway. I’ll do a Monty Python tribute someday and it’ll probably only be you and I that read it!

    Joy–I’ll have to visit your site! I didn’t know you were participating in NaBloPoMo! I’ll stop by later on.
    We wore those ugly yellow jumpsuits when we were in “hot areas.” The guys are holding M16’s. We had to qualify with all kinds of weapons, including pistols and shotguns. If you didn’t shoot at a certain level, you were fired. It was really spooky there, especially at night. I’ll have to post about it someday.

    Jeane–I was looking for the Tripods books the other day on Amazon. They’re pretty expensive, so I don’t think I’ll be giving them away anytime soon. I’m going to have to take better care of them. The paperback set I have is selling for $150.00!

    Steph–Yeah, I was not your typical gal. I was into all the guy stuff back then, and it didn’t hurt that I was 6 ft. tall and in great shape and was also really into partying! I’ve changed A LOT, thank God!

    Yeah, Care–Michael Palin joked that even though he’s British, he’d like to throw his hat into the ring for V. P. because he’d be a better candidate than Sarah. The Republicans sure screwed-up there, didn’t they? (hee-hee)

    Carrie–I’d like to go to Alaska someday just to look at the beauty and majesty of it all. After that, I’m going to move in with you, because I adore where you live. Lucky duck!

    Don–Yes, you’ve found me out! They call me Chartroose Moose, and I’m the spearhead of the “Focus on Your Own Damn Family” counterpentecost movement here in Colorado Springs!
    I was recruited by the FBI while at Rocky Flats, but changed my mind about joining them at the last minute. I was sick of all that crap by then, I guess.

    bermuda–I don’t have any pictures from Rocky Flats, except for one of a bunch of us in street clothes getting soused at the Rocky Flats Bar which was right outside the West entrance. I don’t want to post that one!

  13. […] Things Meme Filed under: books — Tags: meme — Heather @ 10:17 am Ok, Chartroose tagged me for this meme.  I haven’t done one of these in awhile, so here we […]

  14. Ha ha, the only Palin worth talking about. I wonder if there’s a special name for a female laird? Lairdess would be silly. I hope she’s just called the laird!

  15. “The only Palin worth talking about…” on Halloween, my friend Jaye dressed up as Palin in drag. She went as Michael. Complete with stuffed parrot. Best costume ever!

  16. Dew–I adore Michael Palin, and I try to watch some of his travel shows when I get the chance.

    elizabeth–I wish I could’ve seen your friend! That’s a great costume idea…I may have to steal it!

  17. really recruted for fbi? blog is cute. write a book. sent from my kindle.

  18. did you get? ha ha. i can seewhat your up to when im bored in bed with broken leg.

  19. Its such as you learn my mind! You seem to grasp a lot
    approximately this, like you wrote the e-book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with some percent to power
    the message home a little bit, however instead of that, that is fantastic blog.

    An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.


Leave a Reply

Categories

