Posted by: chartroose | January 19, 2009

Values Meme

I was tagged long, long ago for this by one of my favorite new (to me) book blogging discoveries, Kathy.  Her blog is terrifically fun, and she’s a very smart gal.  Go check her out if you haven’t already met her.  You’ll be glad you did.

This meme was kind of difficult to do.  I think that once we’re old enough to make decisions about our own lives, our values become so much a part of us that we take them for granted.  They just exist, like the sky.  I enjoy working on these types of exercises, because they make me remember what it means to be human.  How fortunate I am to be able to analyze and synthesize abstract concepts and derive meaning from them.  It’s great to be alive and communicable (and not in a diseased way)!

So, here are six values that are important to me, six things I do not support, and six bloggers to share this with:

Six values that are important to me

  1. Freedom
  2. Humor (Is humor a value?  Humor has value, so that’s good enough for me).
  3. Integrity
  4. Courage
  5. Respect
  6. Tolerance

Six things I do not support

  1. Dishonesty
  2. The blame game
  3. Racism (sexism, ageism, any related “ism”).
  4. The religious right; Christian fundamentalists; evangelicals
  5. Repressive regimes
  6. Brussels sprouts 

Six bloggers to share this with

  1. Verbivore – who makes me think.
  2. Jill – who makes me laugh.
  3. Jennifer – who I feel is a kindred spirit.
  4. Care – who is sweet and personable (and is gifting me her dog). 
  5. Jack – who is appealingly strange, or strangely appealing.  It depends on the time of day.
  6. Stephen – who is a redheaded British gentleman, which totally works for me. 
Responses

  1. You made me blush and laugh all in one post! I agree with most of what you wrote, but I do admit to supporting Brussels sprouts.

  2. I support brussel sprouts. Try them w/bacon. Yummy.

    I support freedom of religion, including the right to be free *from* religion. Religion has been tarred w/a wide brush lately.

  3. I’m afraid I’ve already done this one, and I don’t want to have to think that hard again. 😀

    But I loathe brussel sprouts, so can we still be friends?

  4. How rude, I forgot to say thank you.

    Thank you!

  5. Awwww! Thank you so much! I will give this some extra hard thought. Hopefully I can post this on Wednesday.

  6. I believe humor to be one of the strongest values, so I’m in full support of it being on your list!

  7. I do not support Brussel sprouts either! Thanks for the tag, I’ll have to think up some answers 🙂

  8. I just discovered your blog and am hooked. I saw this meme and I couldn’t respond to it- too much thinking for this girl. Thanks for sharing (and I am with you on the brussel sprouts and I would add broccoli as well). -Laura
    http://stateofdenmark2.wordpress.com

  9. […] have been tagged by Chartroose, who has taken part in a values meme, in which I get described as “appealingly strange, or strangely appealing”. Sounds good […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

