Posted by: chartroose | March 30, 2009

Surfer Dude’s Guess That Gnarly Gnovel #8

Hey, all you hella coolaphonic blogger geekazoids!  Chartroose was really joensin for me again, and since she’s so totally dank in every way, I’ve agreed to help her out once more.  So, here I am, all amped up and ready to introduce the next boglius prize in our gnarly gnovel contest.  This time, it’s an awesome $25 online gift certificate from Uncommon Goods.  This shop has the sickest swag ever!  If you don’t believe me, go check it out for yourself.

If you haven’t done this this before, the rules are simple.  Read the following plot synopsis and be the first person to give a correct answer in the comments.  Chartroose is looking for both the author and the title.

Are you ready?  Here it is:

This will be a quick one, dudes, because the book and the author are famous.  The hero is an American dude serving in the Italian army during wartime.  He falls in love with an Englishwoman early in the novel and she follows him and nurses him while he’s in the hack shack.  They bump uglies and she gets knocked-up and then they get separated and then he’s almost ganked by some freaked-out Italian officers.  Near the end of the novel, the hero and his squeeze get back together and end up in a neutral country.  They are blissfully happy until a terrible tragedy occurs and the hero is left alone.  Numb with shock, he zombies back to his hotel in the rain. 

Okay, dudes, the first correct  answer wins.  What’s the title, and who wrote it?  Good luck!

Responses

  1. Okay, I think I know it this time! A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway. If I win, will Surfer Dude deliver my prize?

  2. Kathy–
    Hooray, you finally won! I’m afraid that Surfer Dude will not be delivering this prize because it’s an online gift certificate. I don’t think I want to share Surfer Dude anyway. He’s mine (but don’t tell him that).

  3. A Farewell to Arms. I know I didn’t win, but I’d just like to say, having never read this novel, it sounds so incredibly dreary. It ends with him walking home in pouring rain! God! Happy drugs please!

  4. TY — LOL! It WAS dreary. I like Hemingway, but only in small doses.

  5. That’s an awesome summary, I must say!

  6. I never know these but I never tire of looking at Surfer Dude.

    Congrats Kathy!

  7. Aw, dude, I knew this one.

  8. damn…i knew this one!!! let’s play again!

  9. My gift certificate came. Thanks so much! I can’t wait to go shopping!

  10. Hahaha, laughing about that comment about the rainy ending. Is that where the Hemingway version of why did the chicken cross the road comes from? To die. In the rain.

  11. I love both the Gnarly synopsis and Bookfool’s Hemingway chicken story.

  12. […] It’s a Book Barrage! Chartroose usually makes me laugh and brightens my day.  Occassionally, Surfer Dude makes a guest appearance on her blog, describing a book in surfer lingo.  Usually, I have no idea […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

