Posted by: chartroose | September 15, 2008

Daughter Goose’s Rhyme Time Contest #1

Good morning, book bloggers and friends!  To continue the Book Blogger Appreciation Week celebration, chartroose has decided to host another contest.  This one is different, though, because the first correct answer wins.  She’s asked me, Daughter Goose, to modify a nursery rhyme and make it into a “guess that novel” riddle.  Just between you and me, I think my rhyme is better than Mom’s “Hickory, Dickory…” rhyme, which is just plain silly!  Mom is just a silly old goose!  I can’t wait to move out and get some piercings and maybe a swan lake tattoo on my tailfeathers!  Parents!

Here it is:

Hickory dickory book,
This one is worth a look.
If your guess is wise,
You may win a prize,
Hickory dickory book.

The novel features two boys,
Who live in a place full of noise.
It’s violent and mean
And “rude” and unclean,
And bereft of childhood joys.

One of the boys has a dad
Whose life has been very sad.
When young, he had hope,
But now he takes dope
And torments his son pretty bad.

The other boy is racially confused,
And at school he’s often abused.
But at the end of the day,
His hurt goes away,
Because comics help keep him amused.

The boys grow up and apart,
One loses freedom; the other, his heart.
Their boyhood dreams have all died,
And they’re empty inside.
They don’t know where to end or where to start.

If you think you know what this is,
Be the first to answer this quiz.
The winner will gush
Over a $25 e-gift card from Lush,
(You should get the bath bombs that fizz)!

Chartroose uses Lush cosmetics’ “bohemian” bath soap 

and “lemslip buttercream” body butter. She smells so good that she sometimes falls head-over-heels with herself, and that’s a good thing!

Check out their website here

Remember, the first correct answer wins the e-gift card, so hurry!  Also, please include your e-mail address so chartroose can have the company address it to you. 

Good Luck!


Responses

  1. Argh, I have no idea what book this is, although I feel as if I should. Now I’m just anxiously refreshing to see the answer…

  2. Boy I have no clue. The closest I can think of is The Kite Runner but it was years ago that I read that so I’m not sure. Hmmm…but dope…I don’t remember dope. Does anyone else have a clue? Great rhyme!!!

  3. Amanda, I thought of that too. I also sort of want it to be “Huck Finn,” but Huck’s dad was a drunk, not a pot smoker. Plus, Jim wasn’t a kid and didn’t read comics.

  4. All right, here’s a clue–it’s set in the ’70’s. Pay attention to “rude.” It’s a proper noun in this novel.

  5. I’m going to email you my answer, because I don’t know if Google = cheating.

  6. I’m GUESSING this is “The Fortress of Solitude” by Jonathan Lethem. If it weren’t still sitting in my TBR stack, I’d know for sure.

    3.rsblog AT gmail DOT com

  7. If that’s right, give the prize to Florinda instead of me, because I used the magic of Google and she seems to just know it because it is on her TBR pile!

  8. Yep, Florinda, you won! Congratulations! Lush will be sending the e-card your way.

    And, as an added bonus because she was trying so hard, Devourer will also receive a $25.00 Lush card.

    I lurve you all!

    (I may not get to this today, but I will do it sometime this week, I promise!)

  9. Oh, you are too awesome!

  10. Wow, thanks! I may just have to get around to reading it now :-). And I love fancy bath stuff, so I will truly enjoy that gift card!

    Thanks again!

  11. That was so cool! I’m totally late, but II was thinking “Fortress of Solitude”! I’ve never read it, but “the racially confused” got me suspicious. Congrats Florinda! I hope it’s as good as I’ve heard!

  12. Aww the picture so cute! I have no clue about the riddle, good job though!!!


Leave a comment

Categories